Week 13- Artist Conversation- Sam Medeiros

About the Artist: For this week’s artist conversation, we had the pleasure of seeing the work of Sam Medeiros. Sam is an undergraduate and is going for a BFA degree. Sam decided to go to CSULB because he heard of the great art program that it has and is known for being one of the best in the west coast. Some of Sam’s hobbies are reading, writing, listening to music, and hanging out with friends.

Formal Analysis: When I first walked into the gallery, I was surprised by how empty it was. With that said, it also presented the environment with a peaceful feeling and illustrates that there is a story behind the gallery. The gallery consisted of black cushions illustrated above and a chess table. The chess table wasn’t a normal chess table but rather Sam’s revision of the chess pieces themselves. I was impressed by the pieces, since they looked extremely detailed and shows that he put a lot of time and thought into the parts.

Context Analysis: While looking at gallery, it showed that chess played an important part in Sam’s life. It could have been something that brung his family together or something he did as a hobby. In any individual’s life, there is that one thing that they truly enjoy that brings them or their family happiness. With that being said, it was interesting that Sam decided to do his own interpretation of the chess board, while making it his own.

Self Reflection: This gallery hit home with me because my father and I love chess and always play it together. While looking at the chess board, it brings me back to the many times I have played him and how he always beats me at the end. It brings back good and frustrating memories that I have shared with my father. Throughout my life I have always loved thinking games and have even been in chess tournaments when I was younger so this gallery brought a lot of the past for me to think about and appreciate.

Leave a Reply

