Design Thinking Applied to Life Activity, Week 15

My thing that I’m currently doing with my life is becoming a Veterinarian. Although I went to school for a psychology degree, I always knew I wanted to become a Veterinarian. I ended up doing psychology because I was interested in the major and decided to do all the pre-reqs for vet school on the side. For this life choice, my five year plan would first consist of me getting into vet school. I currently applied for Vet school and hope to get accepted to the Caribbean for this fall. Once I get in, it’s about two and a half years of schooling and another year of rotations required to become a vet. My first three years of my plan would just be studying since I will be in vet school and trying to gain as much knowledge as possible so I can be the best vet there is. The third year would be consistent of me finishing school, while finishing all the written tests needs to become licensed as a Vet in the state of California. In my fourth year of the plan I will start working with my dad and learn as much as I can from him. Within the fourth or fifth year, I hope to find my partner and have children because that has always been a goal of mine. For the evaluation scale, I scored high in all of these because that has always been my goal and it is what I want to do with my life. At the same time, I know that with this live style, I will be able to provide my family with whatever they need.

If the current career choice disappeared I would definitely go into business. I have always had a business mind and love creating new ideas that haven’t been thought of before. My end goal would be to try to help failing businesses and see why they are failing, while trying to fix their problem. Within the first couple years of the plan, I would intern at a successful company to see how things are ran. I would try to move up in order to get some position of importance and once I am there, able to understand how everything is run and what makes it go. In the fourth and five year, I will try to reach out of struggling companies and try to fix their product. At the same time, I would like to be able to have enough money to invest in real estate, as well as start a family. The scale here is still relatively high but lower than my first career choice. The reason being is the resources aren’t there for this path as it is for my first career. In both careers, I feel like I can have a good impact and confident that I would be successful.

If I was financially secure and wanted to do what pleases me the most, it would have to be sportscasting. I have always had a passion for sports and knew that if I had the chance, this would be the career path. At the same time, because it is extremely competitive and viewed as “crazy” in my culture to do something so different, I completely disregarded it. Whether it be baseball, basketball, or football I have an interest and knowledge of all those areas. Traveling the country, while going to different areas and stadium would be a dream of mine. In this scale, it ranked extremely high as well but because of the travel associated with the career, I would have to be away from home a lot. One thing that is extremely important to me is family. With that said, although I love the career and perks of it, such as meeting the athletes, missing the early stages of my kids life would be hard. For the rapid prototyping, I decided to find a sportscaster. I ended up finding Mark Neely would works for ESPN. Mark is a play by play announcer and I found it interesting how many individuals had a LinkedIn account. All and all, it was a good experience and loved how this activity made me think of other opportunities out there.

Leave a Reply

